From the Archives: Preacher, Spider Jerusalem, and Extraordinary Gentlemen

I’ve been busy with the new job, so in lieu of new content, enjoy this short entry from Sunday, 02 Mar 2008.

More newer stuff soon…


gonzFTA

Old habits fit nicely sometimes. Recently, I fell back into the world of comic books.

Back in the day, I was a DC junkie — enjoying the likes of Batman, Plastic Man, Captain Marvel, Green Arrow, The Flash, Green Lantern. Fun days. Of course, I was seven or eight at the time. Eventually, I matured and so did my tastes as I began to devour Marvel comics, feasting on new issues and snacking on the backlog of old issues from my brother’s collection.

Eventually, I fell out of the two-party system as independent issues began to become more prominent. Superman and Batman gave way to the Tick and Cerebus.

For years, I’d fall in and out of infatuation, sporadically picking up Warren Ellis’ Transmetropolitan and reading the more grown up DC and Marvel comics. In the last few months, I’ve been doing it again. Recently, I’ve been emptying my wallet for issues of Black Summer and Doktor Sleepless or trade paperbacks of Preacher (a new infatuation… you’re right, Kyle) and League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.

Before, comic books were little more than jingoistic melodrama. As the medium has grown, they’ve taken on adult and mature themes. Warren Ellis, Ben Edlund, Garth Ennis, Dave Sim, Frank Miller and Alan Moore are all true writers in the most literal sense. TV/movie scribes like Kevin Smith and J. Michael Straczynski have cranked out some pretty smashing titles. Even John Cleese got in on the act with a British adaptation of Superman.

Comics, as they say, are serious business.


Wow, did I really end this post on that cliché?

Go on. Say something.

