Tabula Rasa

Hello, world.

You might notice some major changes to this site. New theme, sure. A header image that I’m not totally sold on quite yet, and this one single post (for now). If you’re someone who enjoyed this blog and are disappointed that the Freshly Pressed content you once enjoyed is now gone, I’m sorry but it’s gone. All of those posts are now gone and, well, there’s no point in delaying the news but…

The guy who wrote those posts is dead. The truth is, he died many years ago. It was only today that the twitching ended and even then, I had to smash a heavy book on top of him. I speak in metaphors, of course, for we die many deaths. Comedians die all the time, for instance, not just on stage. Me, that is I, the person, who started gonzarro and its antecedent sites The Bourbon Asylum, Not Really A Book Blog Book Blog, and The Domain of the Gonzo Lager had to go away. Seriously, he was bumming me out. A total downer of a person, a shell of the kook he used to be. What’s worse is that he was sucking up all of the creativity, weirdness, and savage humor that used to be the hallmark of The Man I Was.

It was no longer fun writing on this blog. Each time I wanted to write something different or something new, I felt this tremendous pull to Be Consistent with what was going on before. In a way, gonzarro became my public private diary. I’ve shared quite a bit about myself, and not all of it was fun or uplifting. Or even readable. If it felt like a burden to read, understand that it became a huge burden to write. If you’re not enjoying something, they say, nuke it from space! Tear it down. Burn some sage to cleanse the energy. Start fresh. Begin anew. Clear the slate. Fluff the puppy. I don’t know what that last one means but it sounds pretty damn cute.

Think of it as my take on DC’s The New 52 or Marvel’s All-New, All-Different approach. I want there to be less 😦 and more 😀. Maybe I’ll do a check-in with positive news, talk about some movie that I just watched, some epiphany while passing a comic book shop (that’s called foreshadowing, kids), or just plan fanboy over some crazy geeky shit.

Same blog, new adventures. I want this to be a fun place. I want to be a fun place (if you know what I mean, ladies?). So fuck it. That’s exactly what I’m going to do.

And… go!

 

Go on. Say something.

