Tags

, , , ,

Last night, as I was waiting for my friends to come pick me up, I did an exercise from the amazing book, Astonish Yourself. (Note: pick it up, read it, do the exercises.) Twas #38: Try Not To Think. As it would be some minutes before my friends arrived, I dedicated what time there was to doing just that.

It’s harder than you would suppose. For not only are you working on quieting the internal chatter and noises that go through your blessed brain, you need a fair amount of persistence and concentration. In my experience, breathing has been the easiest way to silence my nut. To some, this may seem akin to meditation but it is not. With meditation, you can acknowledge a stray thought or a bit of burble that pops in your head. “Hey, I had this thought,” you’d ethereally say to yourself and simply move on.

In the end, it is nigh impossible for simple minds such as me to achieve the effect. Unwittingly, a thought or a bit of music creeps in to derail the process.

Eventually, my friends arrived and, in the words of Samuel Pepys, there had good sport, and afterwards went in and drank and talked.

- *** -

ClowncarIf there’s one thing that I’m not a fan of it is those stick family sets that you often see on the back of cars, minivans, and other nuclear unit transports.

No matter how you try to geek it up or cool it out, you’re still perpetuating an insensible and, frankly, dull concept.

I often wonder if the Duggar squad have stick families on their car. And how would it look?

Dad, Mom, Kid, Kid, Kid, Kid, Kid, Kid, Kid, Kid, (see other car)

Something to consider.

- *** -

During my experiment above, a concept popped into my head about non-thinking, which walked along a path towards anti-thought. Does anti-thought behave as anti-matter would? If a thought and an anti-thought were to exist in the same universe, what would be the repercussions?

This is a reason I have trouble sleeping.

- *** -

Watched Looper a few nights ago. While an interesting premise, the execution was sloppy and the storytelling rather dry. However, it did make me wonder something.

Posit: Time travel is discovered. An older version of you appears and kills you. Does this create a paradox? You have to live long enough to go back in time to kill you. If you die now, you can’t go back in time to murder yourself, a concept we’ll call extroverted suicide.

If it does cause a paradox, what are the repercussions? How can theoretical events create physical damage?

Again… sleep, I can’t has it.

- *** -

My personal ad:

Single bearded eccentric middle aged chub seeks a woman that is intellectually, emotionally, and sexually stimulating, empathic, positive, joyful, and loving.

Must enjoy Doctor Who, Douglas Adams, philosophy, hedonism, and Zombie Dice.

- *** -

922985_10201048683885447_461278675_nFinally, in a fit of creative boredom, I doodle a nice little bar napkin drawing. The cleavage belongs to my friend, Fyshmom. The fingers are that of her husband.

The sign to the left reads, “372 Days Without An Existential Paradox.”

Namaste, punks.